

## Council restricts prescribing rights of 7 doctors

20 December 2018

The Medical Council has taken interim action to protect public safety by prohibiting seven NSW doctors from prescribing drugs of addiction to patients. The Council's decision has been taken in order to fulfil its obligation to protect public safety and maintain confidence in the medical profession. Five of the practitioners are currently based in Goulburn.

The medical practitioners are:

Dr Khalil Alokla
Dr Maneesha Tiruni Kapuwatte
Dr Viena Berkho
Dr Hasan A Z Al Hashimi
Dr Siva Vadivel Krishnamoorthy
Dr Mdbadrul Hoque – now practising in Penrith
Dr Khalil Hussein Obeid - now practising in Canberra

Effective from 18 December 2018, the Medical Council imposed a range of conditions on the registration of each doctor including a prohibition on possessing, supplying or administering any 'drug of addiction' (Schedule 8 Drug) as set out in the *NSW Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Act*.

The Council has advised the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) of the new conditions on each medical practitioner's registration. The specific conditions relating to each doctor are available on AHPRA's national Register of Practitioners.

The Council has also referred the practitioners to the NSW Health Care Complaints Commission (HCCC).

## **Background**

The Medical Council regulates medical practitioners in NSW.

Under section 150 of the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law (NSW), the Council can suspend or impose restrictions on a practitioner's registration as an immediate action pending final disposition of the complaint.

Proceedings under s150 are not public, nor may the reasons for decision by published.

Changes to the practitioner's registration status, such as the imposition of conditions or suspension, are published on the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency online public register at <a href="https://www.ahpra.gov.au/registration/registers-of-practitioners.aspx">https://www.ahpra.gov.au/registration/registers-of-practitioners.aspx</a>

Please attribute to a spokesperson for the Medical Council of NSW.